top of page

Philippians 4

Everyone knows Philippians 4:13, "I can do all things through Him who gives me strength," and often quote it to apply to different areas of their life. However, not many people know what the verses before and after it refer to. They often take it out of context and apply it to whatever struggle they seem to be going through at the moment. I am 100% guilty of this but had my view point changed this past week. While it is not necessarily a bad thing to do, it is also important to know the situation that was going on at the moment. It is important to know what God was trying to show us in the entire chapter. Philippians 4:10-12 says,

"I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want."

This chapter is about contentment. It's about having everything we need in Jesus Christ, not in material things. It reminded me of my goal for 2017: be content. He is telling us that He loves us more than anyone ever could and He will always provide for us, as long as we trust Him. God has constantly been putting moments in my life lately that are reminding me of this goal and telling me what true contentment really means. God provides all the love, peace, and happiness we need when we put in the work to grow closer to Him. If I am willing to dedicate my time to Him, He will provide me with time to accomplish what I need. If I am willing to dedicate a portion of the money I make to serving Him, he will provide me with the comforts I need to survive. If I am willing to serve Him and serve others, He will provide me with opportunities that I would have never been able to experience without His intervention.

I am learning to trust God in every situation; I am giving Him control instead trying to micro-manage every area of my life like I have before. It's difficult for me to trust that everything will work out, but every time I give Him control, I am amazed at what He can do. Even if at first it doesn't seem to be exactly what I wanted, I am always pleasantly surprised that what happened was for the best. I will never know the greatness He has planned for me if I am not willing to trust Him.

Since making it a point in my life to grow closer to Him, I have found myself experiencing "God moments" more frequently. I can plainly see when He has placed a person or a circumstance in my life for a reason. Receiving this new perspective was a "God moment" I truly needed this week. It was yet another reminder that contentment should be my goal for 2017. It was a moment of God telling me that He is there for me and I am on the right path. It was a restoration of faith and a true moment of peace at a simple Monday night bible study.


bottom of page