top of page

Blessings in Disguise

Four years ago I was a sophomore at Jourdanton High School and starting on the varsity basketball team. On December 8, 2012 our team was at a basketball tournament in Poteet and God made yet another attempt to show me what His plan for me was. At the beginning of the fourth quarter of the last game of the tournament, I jumped up for a rebound and didn't stick the landing (which seemed to be a common occurrence for me). I felt the snap of my leg as I hit the ground and knew instantly that it was broken. To 15 year old me, this was the end of the world. District play was starting the next week and I was finally getting over a series of injuries my freshman year. I would have traded anything in the world to not be hurt that day.

However, when I look back, I realize the message God was sending me. He was showing me where my focus needed to be: my school work and my involvement with my stock show animals and the FFA. That year I was able to focus more on these areas of my life and He truly blessed me with great success. I eventually decided to not play sports and channel my efforts towards my grades and leadership opportunities in FFA. I know this is what God was telling me to do all along. Agriculture was where my future was. There have been many times where I have strayed from this and thought He had another plan. Somehow, He always leads my heart back to something in agriculture, and I couldn't be happier than where I am today.

Four years ago I wanted nothing more than to be an all star basketball player. Today, I am comforted by the thought that He always knew the direction I was supposed to be headed; I was just too stubborn to see it. Even on our toughest days, if we put our struggles on Him, He will give us the strength to get through it. I know breaking my leg is such a small struggle compared to many others, but the impact it has had on my life has been immeasurable. It has taught me some of the biggest lessons in my life and guided me back to God's path for my life. I am thankful for blessings in disguise such as this that have tested me in various ways but always end up making my faith in Him just that much stronger.


bottom of page