top of page

Child of God


"But to all who believed Him and accepted Him, He gave the right to become children of God." -John 1:12

I am proud to say that I believe in Him and I have accepted Him. I am proud to say that I am a child of God. I took this picture during worship at a church I attend on campus on Tuesday nights, Raider Church. Being able to worship and praise Him with hundreds of other college students in the same season of life that I am in is the highlight of my week. It brings me such great joy to know that God is working in so many of my fellow students' lives. I know we all face similar struggles and that college is such a trying time. We all are trying to figure out what we want to do for the rest of our lives, who we want to spend that time with, and what our purpose on earth really is.

Some of us have it all figured out, and some of us think we never truly will. The past couple of weeks I have been feeling exceptionally on top of my game and like I have my life truly put together. I credit this to building my relationship with God this semester. I take time out of my week to attend church, serve at my church, and attend bible study. Even though this time I spend at church or in my bible or blogging could be used to study, I have realized how important this time is to me and the person I am becoming. When I spend this time with Him, I know that He will reward me and help me find time to study and the ability to accomplish much greater things than I could on my own. I have yet to be this busy throughout my college career, but somehow I have been more successful in every aspect of my life than I have in the last year. I feel whole. I feel comfortable. I feel like I have found my identity in Christ.

As a typical young adult, I have always worried about what others think. However, the more I build my relationship with God, the less I worry about others opinions. I have come to the realization that what matters most is that I am a Child of God, and that He loves me more than anyone on this earth ever could (except maybe my mom). The fact that I may not be the prettiest, the most popular, or the smartest doesn't make God love me any less. He made me exactly how He wanted me, and He knows me better than anyone. He blessed me with talents that I could use to best serve Him, and the ability to learn and grow as a person, and as a Christ follower. I know that I am never alone as long as I am following God. I have been fearfully and wonderfully made in His image and I can accomplish all things through He who gives me strength. (Psalm 139:14, Philippians 4:13)

Building my relationship with Christ has had such a positive impact on every area of my life (who knew?!). I have always believed in Him and trusted Him, but I have never made spending time with Him a priority. When He became the number one priority in my life, everything changed. I feel more accomplished in every aspect, from school to my relationships. I feel more comfortable with myself and expressing who I truly am. Becoming a true Child of God was the best decision I have ever made.


bottom of page