top of page

Seasons of Life

With the weather changing and it FINALLY beginning to feel like fall, I have began to think a lot about the season of life that I am in right now. As a college student, my life and responsibilities feel like they are constantly changing, and I know it doesn't stop from this point forward. Even though nothing feels consistent in my life, I know one thing will never change: God will always love me. He will always be there. Whether I change majors, change friend groups, or decide to take my life in a completely new direction, His love will never fail me. As long as I continue to pray to Him and ask for His guidance, I know that these changes that I am going through will all be to glorify Him. His plan for my life is so much greater than I could ever imagine.

The beginning of Ecclesiastes 3 refers to these different times in our lives. In the translation for the KJVA, Ecclesiastes 3:1 says, "To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven." God has a purpose for every time of our lives; it makes us who we are today. There are times to celebrate and times to mourn, times to laugh and times to cry, and each of these times have a significant impact in our lives. It doesn't mean that we won't face hard times just because we are walking with God and praising Him in all that we do. Satan is going to try and get to us and put the thought in our heads that God has abandoned us in these troubling times. I heard something a few weeks ago that has really stuck with me, "Why would Satan go after someone that he already has? If you feel him trying to get to you, you must be doing something right." When you are showing him that he has no control over, that is when he is going to try his hardest to bring you down.

One of the most important things we can do as Christians is to praise God in the difficult seasons of our lives. Those are the times we should be praying our hardest. Those are the times that He is doing something great in our lives that we just don't quite understand. One of the most quoted bible verses is John 13:7, "Jesus replied, "You don't understand now what I am doing, but you someday you will."" Someday we will look back and realize He was there even when we thought He had abandoned us. We will thank Him for those unanswered prayers and those hard times that have made us who we are today.

We change, seasons change, society changes, but God and His word do not. Isaiah 40:8 says, "The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the word of our God stands forever." We can rely on Him and His word to guide us through every season of our lives.

bottom of page