top of page

Set an Example

I would definitely consider myself as someone who has an inner drive to constantly be helping others (as many personality tests have also told me so). People are often looking to me for advice with school, their relationships, or just life in general. Along with helping others, I have always found myself in leadership positions in many areas of my life. I am continuously looking for new ways to get involved and am driven to take on new responsibilities. Because of both of these, I always feel like I need to be setting an example for people around me. For this reason, I have always striven to live by one simple verse from 1st Timothy, "Don't let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in your speech, conduct, love, faithfulness, and purity." This verse is always on my mind because it encompasses so many daily aspects: the way you talk, the way you act, and the way you love.

However, I have recently been secretly hoping to be an example for people in another aspect of my life: my faith in God. I've found myself focusing on the fourth aspect, faithfulness, just a little more. I want my faith in God to shine through and be seen by every person I encounter each day. I want them to see His goodness flow through me in the way I talk, the way I act, and the way I love. That faithfulness to Jesus Christ is what should make all of my actions pure, there should be no hidden meaning behind my actions, no wicked thoughts behind my words. Even though I am young, I can still be a godly example to anyone I come across.

I have never been ashamed of my belief, but I definitely haven't been as open about it as I should be. Sharing God's love has always been something I have struggled with; something I haven't ever been able to openly express. I guess that is part of what led me to start this blog. At first, I simply wanted it to be for myself and a way to put into words what God has put on my mind. However, as I started writing, I wanted to share these thoughts with everyone. I want everyone to see the goodness that God has brought to my life and the impact He has had on me. Another one of my favorite verses, Isaiah 6:8, talks about being a messenger for God. I am determined to become a true messenger of God, not just in sharing his word, but in the way I conduct myself. I want to set an example in my faithfulness, along with my speech, conduct, and love.


bottom of page